DGA Announces Best Director Award Noms

The Director's Guild of America has announced the nominees for the 2009 DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film.

directors guild awards

The five nominees and their films are: Kathryn Bigelow for "The Hurt Locker," James Cameron for "Avatar," Lee Daniels for "Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire," Jason Reitman for "Up in the Air," and Quentin Tarantino for "Inglourious Basterds."

This is a first DGA nomination for Bigelow, Daniels and Reitman. Cameron was nominated -- and won -- for "Titanic" in 1997. Tarantino also received a nomination for his 1994 cult classic, "Pulp Fiction."

The winner will be announced at the 62nd Annual DGA Awards Dinner on January 30.