Celebrity News

Film Independent Spirit Awards 2019: The Complete Winners List!

Film Independent Spirit Awards 2019: The Complete Winners List!

A day before the Oscars, winners of the 2019 Film Independent Spirit Awards were announced in Santa Monica.

Aubrey Plaza hosted the ceremony, which was attended by Dakota Johnson, Tilda Swinton, Glenn Close, Regina King, and more!

“Extra’s” Terri Seymour spoke with Glenn Close at the Film Independent Spirit Awards, where she was accompanied by her pet pooch Pip.

Pip is no stranger to the red carpet, appearing with Glenn several times during award season. She gushed, “He’s the most chill dog.”


Here’s the complete list below!

Best Feature

  • “Eighth Grade”
  • First Reformed”
  • “If Beale Street Could Talk” WINNER
  • “Leave No Trace”
  • “You Were Never Really Here”

Best First Feature

  • “Hereditary”
  • “Sorry to Bother You” WINNER
  • “The Tale”
  • “We the Animals”
  • “Wildlife”

Best Director

  • Debra Granik, “Leave No Trace”
  • Barry Jenkins, “If Beale Street Could Talk” WINNER
  • Tamara Jenkins, “Private Life”
  • Lynne Ramsay, “You Were Never Really Here”
  • Paul Schrader, “First Reformed”

Best Female Lead

  • Glenn Close, “The Wife” WINNER
  • Toni Collette, “Hereditary”
  • Elsie Fisher, “Eighth Grade”
  • Regina Hall, “Support the Girls”
  • Helena Howard, “Madeline’s Madeline”
  • Carey Mulligan, “Wildlife”

Best Male Lead

  • John Cho, “Searching”
  • Daveed Diggs, “Blindspotting”
  • Ethan Hawke, “First Reformed” WINNER
  • Christian Malheiros, “Sócrates”
  • Joaquin Phoenix, “You Were Never Really Here”

Best Supporting Female

  • Kayli Carter, “Private Life”
  • Tyne Daly, “A Bread Factory”
  • Regina King, “If Beale Street Could Talk” WINNER
  • Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, “Leave No Trace”
  • J. Smith-Cameron, “Nancy”

Best Supporting Male

  • Raúl Castillo, “We the Animals”
  • Adam Driver, “BlacKkKlansman”
  • Richard E. Grant, “Can You Ever Forgive Me?” WINNER
  • Josh Hamilton, “Eighth Grade”
  • John David Washington, “Monsters and Men”

Best Screenplay

  • Richard Glatzer, Rebecca Lenkiewicz, and Wash Westmoreland, “Colette“
  • Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty, “Can You Ever Forgive Me?“ WINNER
  • Tamara Jenkins, “Private Life“
  • Boots Riley, “Sorry to Bother You“
  • Paul Schrader, “First Reformed“

Best First Screenplay

  • Bo Burnham, “Eighth Grade“ WINNER
  • Christina Choe, “Nancy“
  • Cory Finley, “Thoroughbreds“
  • Jennifer Fox, “The Tale“
  • Laurie Shephard and Quinn Shephard, “Blame“

John Cassavetes Award

  • A Bread Factory
  • En el Séptimo Día WINNER
  • Never Goin’ Back
  • Sócrates
  • Thunder Road

Best Documentary

  • “Hale County This Morning, This Evening“
  • “Minding the Gap“
  • “Of Fathers and Sons“
  • “On Her Shoulders“
  • “Shirkers“
  • “Won’t You Be My Neighbor?" WINNER

Best International Film

  • “Burning“ (South Korea)
  • “The Favourite“ (United Kingdom)
  • “Happy as Lazzaro“ (Italy)
  • “Roma“ (Mexico) WINNER
  • “Shoplifters“ (Japan)

Best Editing

  • Joe Bini, “You Were Never Really Here“ WINNER
  • Keiko Deguchi, Brian A. Kates, and Jeremiah Zagar, “We the Animals“
  • Luke Dunkley, Nick Fenton, Chris Gill, and Julian Hart, “American Animals“
  • Anne Fabini, Alex Hall, and Gary Levy, “The Tale“
  • Nick Houy, “Mid90s“

Best Cinematography

  • Ashley Connor, “Madeline’s Madeline“
  • Diego García, “Wildlife“
  • Benjamin Loeb, “Mandy“
  • Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, “Suspiria“ WINNER
  • Zak Mulligan, “We the Animals“

Robert Altman Award (Best Ensemble) “Suspiria“

The Bonnie Award

  • Debra Granik WINNER
  • Tamara Jenkins
  • Karyn Kusama

Producers Award

  • Jonathan Duffy and Kelly Williams
  • Gabrielle Nadig
  • Shrihari Sathe WINNER

Someone to Watch Award

  • Alex Moratto, “Sócrates“ WINNER
  • Ioana Uricaru, “Lemonade“
  • Jeremiah Zagar, “We the Animals“

Truer Than Fiction Award

  • Alexandria Bomback, “On Her Shoulders“
  • Bing Liu, “Minding the Gap“ WINNER
  • Ramell Ross, “Hale County This Morning, This Evening“