Celebrity News

Livestream: Céline Dion and Loved Ones Attend René Angélil’s Funeral

UPDATE: If you missed the livestream, read our detailed report of the funeral here.

Céline Dion has invited the world to join her and her family at René Angélil's funeral via a livestream video. Watch below.


The singer posted a message on her Facebook page, telling fans, “From anywhere across the globe, it will be possible to follow René Angélil's state funeral online.”

The broadcast will begin at 10:30 a.m. PT/ 1:30 p.m. ET on Friday, January 22, as mourners arrive to the Notre-Dame Basilica in Montreal, followed by a livestream from inside the church starting at 12 p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET.

The funeral follows an especially emotional day for Céline and her family, after they held a public viewing for Angélil at the same location.

Dion’s heartbreak was obvious, her eyes watery, her face hidden under a sequined veil, as she greeted friends, family, and the public at the viewing.

Now a widow, Céline was dressed in head-to-toe black, standing just steps away from René’s open casket, her 15-year-old son René-Charles and stepsons Patrick and Jean-Pierre Angélil by her side.

She told People, "The support we've received has been such a blessing.”

Comments