Award Shows

Video! At the 'Oscar Correspondent Contest'

Luz Pena and Philip Robibero from Hofstra University were the Grand Prize winners of the "Oscars Correspondent Contest," presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and mtvU, MTV's 24-hour college network.

Pena and Robibero beat out teams of college journalists from across the nation to win this opportunity. The Academy and mtvU selected an initial group of ten semifinalists from the contest entries.

"There is no surprise that Hofstra University continues to develop amazing talent and Luz and Philip absolutely delivered this year," said Carlo DiMarco, Vice President of Strategic Partnerships at mtvU. "We're excited that, along with the Academy, we were once again able to offer this incredible experience and look forward to continuing our commitment to providing college students engaging contests with unparalleled rewards."

The winning team was selected following a second mtvU online poll and an evaluation by the Academy and a panel of entertainment news professionals. The panel was composed of Brooke Anderson, co-host of HLN's "Showbiz Tonight"; Sandy Cohen from the Associated Press; and Adam Weissler, Senior Segment Producer from "Extra."